Help me understand how DPW works

I’ve been visiting this site for about six months and have really enjoyed seeing other artists work and communicating on this forum. I’ve even bought a few pieces. However, my attempts at selling any paintings at this site have been a resounding failure so far. I don’t blame anyone for that because other artists appear to be selling their works here, but I can’t justify paying the monthly membership fee if nothing sells. Much of my motivation for selling here was to clear out a backlog of paintings that are piling up in my house, and I might as well give them away rather than pay a monthly fee and not sell anything.

I’ve explored the DPW site, but remain confused about how paintings are marketed here. I understand that paintings are posted once on the What’s New page, and that auctions are repeated three times. However, I remain confused about several points:

• How are paintings selected for the Featured page, and does it matter?
  • What does it mean if your painting is selected for an auction DPW Pick? Does it improve your chances of selling in any way? I received notices that my paintings were DPW auction picks a number of times, but I can’t see how that was drawing any more attention to them.
  • How are paintings selected for promotion on the DPW Facebook page? I’ve had only one painting posted on the FB page, and it wasn’t one that I would have chosen to post there. FB would seem to be the most effective way to promote artwork but the DPW page seems to limited to only a few artists.
  • Why do the same artists always seem to appear on the Facebook page, Feature section, and the top of the auction page? Are they paying extra for that privilege, are they longtime members, or simply creating better artwork in the view of the website manager?