Varnish on back order

I have been using oils for a few months now. I want to varnish a few them but all I have on hand is acrylic varnish. I am painting pretty thinly on gessobord and then leaning the paintings against a brightly lit window. Can I use the acrylic varnish? I have some retouching varnish for oils on back order with Blicks but the date keeps getting pushed out. Should I just wait until I have the proper product?

1 Like

Hi Sarah. I’ve never used retouch varnish, but I believe it is only used during painting when portions dry before you have finished the painting and you want to bring the colors up to their original brightness in order to continue your painting toward completion. I always use Gamvar varnish by Gamblin after my paintings are dry - and it should be easy to get. Most places sell it, even Hobby Lobby and Michaels.

2 Likes

Thank you so much! I have read that oil paintings need to dry for up to a year before they can have a final varnish? I read that retouch varnish is good for protecting paintings until then? I know these are total newbie questions….I will go reasearch.

1 Like

No, don’t use acrylic varnish for oil!!! You actually can try it yourself on small safe piece. Oil will push it out of surface and it won’t stick at all.
Try different oil varnishes - gamvar gloss is good one. I personally use dammar from Chelsea, sometimes it need 2-3 coats to look even

2 Likes

You can safely varnish after painting is fully dried and paint does not smudge

1 Like

Yes, Gamvar is the one that most oil painters use. Because it is slightly porous, it can be applied when the painting is dry to the touch. Use gloss or semi-gloss, or a combination of the two.

4 Likes

What brand acrylic varnish?
I paint thin as well sometimes using small amounts of Japan drier when deadlines are short.
Painting thin I can wait only a week and spray varnish them safely. I know because I contacted the company for verification.