The infamous gloss or matte finish for acrylic paintings?

Hello I am new to DPW and just started painting again after 13 year hiatus while concentrating on career development and building a family. I have become reinvigorated since picking up brushes again but am mostly self taught. Now after having a few completed works with painting daily, I want to varnish some of them. I know it may be just a preference but in regards to abstract realism and more palette knife work, which would you recommend? Is there dullness or color/details lost with matte? Or does the texture get lost in the glare of glossy varnish?

Thanks for any input I can receive. And I know I may just have to experiment and find my own preference.

For me it’s always just been a personal preference. I always prefer the more glossy look instead of the matte. Yes it can cause glare depending on where your standing, but it seems to deepen the colors more. Others on here may have a better answer, but for me I think it boils down to what you like.

1 Like

I did a series and used matte on them and recently have been using gloss. I think the dark colors come out more with gloss. I just bought a can of Satin but haven’t tried it yet because I’m going through the same indecision. Ha! It may depend on the subject, style, and / or colors in the piece. Maybe not be the same for all pieces.

1 Like