Suggestion for even better 'Traffic Feedback'

Hi David!
This is just a follow up on our email conversation of a while ago, and I thought it may be of interest to hear what others think about the suggestion to show the Median value in addition to the Average value for clicks etc. The reason for this is that the Average shown may be highly influenced by the clicks that a select few rock star artists get. The Median will not be influenced by this.

So for example, let’s say DPW has only 5 artists, and they get the following clicks: Artist A - 0 clicks, B - 10 clicks, C - 15 clicks, D - 20 clicks, and Rock star world famous artist E gets 200 clicks. Well then the average for those 5 artists will be the average of (0,10,15,20,200) which is 49.

The median is the value at which 50% of clicks is above or below. So for the data set (0,10,15,20,200) the median is 15, which is in my opinion a BETTER indicator of how my art is doing compared to others.

For example, if I am a new artist and (compared to the above), I get 30 clicks, then if I compare my statistics to the average of 49, I may feel like a bit of a loser, whereas in fact there is only one artist (Rock star E) that is doing better than me!

Apologies for the non-art mathematics stuff, but I thought some others may find this interesting. David has indicated that he will consider doing this but I understand it just one of many things to do.

A huge congratulations and thank you to Carol, David and the team at DPW - you have build a lovely business with a real heart and family feeling. I took a chance to put my work on here with a strategy of keeping it on here for two years and see if anything sells, then use that feedback to plan my next step. Well, I was gobsmacked when my first paintings sold within about two months - only in my median wildest dream would that happen!

Thanks again!

Fritz

1 Like