So many media...!

I thought I’d start a thread about working in many media.
Just a lighthearted chat thread, I don’t have a question to ask or anything like that.

For about the past 8 years or so I’ve been painting in oils. But around March, at the beginning of lockdown, I stopped painting. I lost the motivation entirely. We are in New York so it was pretty scary for a while.

But now I have found motivation again, but I’ve been playing around with other media.
To start, I really got into linocut printing, probably because I was cutting simple shapes and I found the simplicity strangely freeing and theraputic, with no pressure. I could cut a few shapes while watching TV in the evening.
Then I started playing around with watercolors… Then acrylics.
I’m full of ideas and motivation again and I might even start painting in oils again… but the range of media is taking over the house.
AND I’ve been teaching my two daughters to sew.
Seriously guys, I have paint tubes, canvasses, gesso, lino, fabric, cutting knives, brushes everywhere. You name it, I think I could open my own art store.
It’s nice problem to have and I feel fortunate to have it.

Anyone else trying out new things?

1 Like

I love trying out new things! I have been sewing lately, well not new to me but I haven’t in awhile. I like making sketchbooks where you cut the pages and sew them together and make a cover. I learned how to do a gouache and ink resist technique, that is lots of fun, I like things where you don’t know how they are going to come out at the end. Like batik, I want to get into that again, did that years ago. I want to try it with paper instead of cloth. Then I recently did some collagraphs. They didn’t come out that great, I don’t have a press but I can go over them with paint or pastels. I am mainly an oil painter. The house is a disaster, art supplies all over.

Ha! That’s great.