Shipping small paintings

I’m fairly new to DPW and have sold a few small paintings, all shipped via USPS Priority Mail. This was the option suggested by Carol Marine in one of her tutorials. It has worked beautifully. However, lately two packages due to be delivered to my household have gotten lost when shipping USPS First Class. I understand USPS is implementing some new processes which may be causing our problems. I’m just curious if anyone else is experiencing problems with shipping Priority Mail within the US.

I also use the USPS Priority Mail Flat Rate Shipping and have had no issues. You mention USPS First Class being shipped TO YOU have been lost. I haven’t had any problems receiving packages through USPS for either shipping method or to and from. Maybe I have been lucky due to what you said with new procedures.

I will add just to be safe always put the “To” and “From” addresses on the inside of the package as well.
I have received packages for NWS shows from all over the country and world. Some of them the boxes were near shredded or torn badly maybe from sliding around trucks or floors? with the addresses barely visible. I was surprised they made it.
I have heard the horror stories of lost art heading to shows never to make it.

Shipping companies will retape, repackage any that have been destroyed but if they can’t make out the destination or where it came from then as far as I know it goes to some warehouse so maybe it gets claimed.
If you put the adresses on the inside too your chances increase,

1 Like

Thank you for the suggestion to be sure the to and from info is also on the inside. I will definitely do that from now on.

1 Like

Emily,
Welcome to Daily Painter.

I also paint small paintings and use Priority mail. I have shipped out hundreds of paintings, with no problems. ( okay, I’m knocking on wood) I like that they supply the box, offer $100 in insurance and they give you a tracking number.

You’ve lost paintings even with tracking?