Sensitivity to mineral spirits?

I suspect that I have developed a sensitivity to odorless mineral spirits. I’ve been breaking out with a rash on my face for the past six months, and it seems to recur after oil painting. I’ve been using Turpenoid, but wasn’t ventilating my painting room adequately until recently and soon it will be too cold to paint with windows open.

I’ve got quite an investment in oil paints and mediums, so would rather not switch to water-mixable oils or acrylics unless necessary. Also, I am not totally sure the rash is caused by OMS exposure, although the circumstantial evidence is compelling. The rash goes away if I don’t paint for a while and seems to come back when I paint, particularly if for several hours or days in a row.

I recently bought some Gamsol to use instead of Turpenoid, but it’s still OMS. Are there other good options that I should consider for cleaning brushes and thinning oil paints? I really love oil painting and have learned many techniques for using it over the years. Not a fan of acrylics, watercolors, pastels for my personal work although I appreciate work by others in various media.

I clean my brushes with soap and water. Murphy’s Oil Soap works well. I have a local soap company that makes a soap with fir balsam in it that cleans oil paint like magic.

Google “solvent free oil painting” for ideas and suggestions. Gamsol is the least irritating OMS I have found. Gamblin also offer solvent free medium and solvent free painting gel. Their customer service would be happy to answer questions you have about these products.

I hope you find a solution that works for you.

3 Likes

Yes!

I don’t use any kind of mineral spirits.
I just use good old fashioned linseed oil to thin my paint as I go, then wipe my brush on a paper towel often, dipping back in the linseed oil again if I need to, then wipe again.

Then I use studio soap to wash my brushes which is also made from linseed oil. Works an absolute treat.

1 Like