Painting Architecture

I can’t find this topic at my library. Any book titles or authors on this subject (oil painting) would be most appreciated! Thank you.

Jeez! I did a quick search and found (almost) nothing. Nothing specific to painting ARCHITECTURE other than watercolor or sketching, like urban sketchers, perspective books and one or two which did not look very good. I am surprised!
Uh, art publishers? Get on it. It’s an untapped market!

David, Thanks for taking your time on this. Glad it’s not just my library. I did return to my “Go To” book, ‘Brushwork for the Oil Painter’, by Emile Gruppe and edited by Charles Movalli. There is one chapter on ‘Buildings’ that runs for about eleven pages and is quite helpful. Still, I would have thought there would be more on this subject at a library.

Pat, what specifically are you looking to explore? Perspective drawing perhaps, you could research on that, which I often do. I am a Home Portrait painter and do numerous buildings, both the neighborhood homes as well as historic. Perspective is one of the most valuable (and often difficult) things to handle. My father taught me about perspective & lineage at a very early age - his teaching is with me to this day! If you are more interested in art history, that is an entirely different search. I’m fortunate that my library (which is small) is in a larger group of libraries in my county, and I can visit any one of them. I often find more options in some the larger ones.

It’s too early for me to be specific. I need to try painting a few buildings to see where I’m going with this, if at all. Thanks for writing.

Without specifics, it’s hard to know what you’re after.