New to oils but not painting

I just started making friends with oils :slight_smile: I have 35 years of sculpting experience, then 6 years of pastel experience, and a sprinkling of acrylic :slight_smile: I’m not a DPW member but I did win a free month many years ago :slight_smile: I have always enjoyed this site and how well it is designed, and after reading here that WetCanvas is shutting down I thought posting here would be a better idea. I have been doing pastel lessons with Marla Bagetta for awhile, and also her acrylics courses and now her beginners oil course. I also recently purchased Carol’s Daily Painting book :slight_smile: I have done 6 small studies on gessoed pastel paper, here are my favs so far:

I am starting to get a feel for it, but I have a ton to learn! I think I will do some Edgar Payne master copies next. Any and all comments most welcome :slight_smile:

1 Like

These look great!
I was in a similar boat about a year ago when I picked up oil paints. I had painting experience but it was all digital so the difference was quite dramatic.

How are you finding oil paints so far? It looks like you’ve made the transition really well.

I’ve been on DPW for maybe a month and a half, and it’s been a thoroughly positive experience. I fully recommend it.

I am finding them interesting, different, frustrating :slight_smile: I felt the same when learning acrylic last year :slight_smile: I enjoy learning new mediums though, and they are all wonderful with their individual pros and cons. I am primarily a pastellist. I have perused DPW since 2012, but I have a FASO website and am not prepared to also have a gallery here. I do buy Art Bytes, and sometimes enter the contest though :slight_smile: