Moving Art equipment/supplies overseas

Hi all, I’m moving to Okinawa Japan next month. Does anyone here have experience traveling overseas with painting gear (oil specifically)? I’m worried about getting mineral spirits, alkyds, cadmium paints through customs (both my checked luggage, and my main shipment that’s being shipped seperately) without thousands of dollars worth of supplies being confiscated. My plan was to have the movers ship all the major end items (studio easel, most of my paints, solvents, etc) and check my plein air kit in my luggage, so I have stuff to utilize for the 6 weeks while my stuff travels via ship across the pacific. The plein air kit is specifically what I’m worried about but I’m also worried about having my main shipment also being confiscated.
Any advice would be awesome.

Hello Thomas. I am primarily an oil painter and I moved from California to Spain in 2015. I shipped through a company called Schumacher out of Long Beach and had no problems except it took longer than I had planned. Ship landed in London and unloaded and then by truck they delivered my things to southern Spain. Nothing was stolen. There was some minor breakage of some ceramics, due to my fault of not packing them carefully. Number your boxes and make a list of contents. I brought my most necessary brushes with me in my checked luggage, and again no problem. Turps, solvents, I think you should not chance bringing as usually they are illegal to carry because of their toxicity and flammability. I packed many canvases, paintings…all no problem. I bought my easel here as the one I had was not worth shipping. I think your main concern is not confiscation but that it will probably take more time to arrive than you believe. Have a good trip and happy move.

1 Like