Daily Paintworks (DPW) | About DPW

How did you learn to knife paint?

(Patricia J. Powers) #1

Is there a right way to paint with a knife? I have some good knives that I have been using to push paint around, but am never sure if this is correct. I haven’t found much on YouTube or at the library. If this is a mostly self taught endeavor, that’s where I’m at.

(Joseph Mahon) #2

Hi Patricia, it’s one of those areas in art that information is often vague at best. Yet, in the online art stores there is an array of painting knives up to 1 to150 or so. I use a palette knife a lot in my oil painting and I mostly use a small RGM make, and whether I am using it the correct way or not, makes little difference if I get the effect I want. I reckon three is the most one would need, a no. 20, 81 and a 109.

(Patricia J. Powers) #3

Thanks Joe. It is indeed strange that more hasn’t been written about these tools. I think I’ll just keep on with my various swipes and slashes!

(Padmaja Madhu) #4

Hi Patricia,
I paint with knife mostly, I am happy with an inexpensive plastic knife that can be wiped clean, and I follow my instinct to apply the paint in a way that gives me the result that I am looking for. I love the knife better than the brush but I need to make sure that I dont get addicted to the knife and not use brush at all! Here is a link to a knife technique that I have enjoyed. Hope you like it too.
Trying to give the link on my ipad…

http://youtu.be/RzSHhW41bVA

(Patricia J. Powers) #5

Thanks Padmaja, I just looked at his video and it’s the best I’ve seen.

(Patricia Barnes) #6

I prefer using pieces of cardboard over palette knives–easier to control. Cut up matting is a nice weight to use.

(Elisabeth Seeger) #7

I think Leslie Saeta paints with a knife and teache’s that too - you might check out her site: Lesliesaeta.com

Betsy

(Aimee Deneweth) #8