Frame help for small paintings

I started painting on ampersand hardboard 1/8” thin variety but have no idea where to purchase frames that will accommodate this width. Where can I buy a frame with the correct rabbet width for these? I use mainly the 6x6 and 5x7 but have others I have yet to paint on. Help! Thanks for listening!

Just about any frame will accommodate 1/8" thickness, even photo frames. The depth of the rabbet is usually more than the 1/8" to leave room for mats. You could also consider floater frames at the size you are working.

1 Like

It sounds like you want to use floater frames which allow you to paint to the edge of your panel. I glue my panels (with silicone glue) to a backer board (masonite or gatorfoam) and then frame the backer board in a regular frame. You can size the regular frame to show just a 1/8 inch reveal or you can have a wide expanse of the backer board showing. You will need to paint the backer board to a color which suits the presentation. I use a floater frame from Franken Frames which has a shallow rabbet and allows me to frame 1/8inch panels. If you want the opening of the frame to show a narrow reveal you can ask Franken Frames to cut the frame “sight size” to a specific size. That way the cut is based on the visible opening rather than the rabbet. King of Frame sells precut floater frames for small paintings which have a backer board already installed. I recommend using silicone glue which takes up to 24 hours to set up. It stays flexible even when cured so you can cut through it with a thin knife and release your paintings if you need to change out the frame.

2 Likes

Thank you David! I appreciate the advice!

1 Like

Hi Gretchen. Not sure I want to use just floater frames. I like both contemporary and traditional type frames. Thank you for your advice! I appreciate your advice!