Favorite Painters who inspire you

Hey, i’m new to DailyPaintworks and only just found the forum tab in the top corner.

I wanted to start a new topic to ask you all where you draw inspiration from. ?
Do you have certain painters of the past who motivate you each day to practice your craft and learn to become a better painter yourself… or do you just self motivate simply from life itself

My favorites are Edwin Landseer, John Martin, Arthur Wardle, John Singer Sargent

List below some of your Favorite Artists dead or alive …

thanx
-mickey

Me too, John Singer Sargent!!! Beautiful, beautiful light! Also Mary Cassatt, Claude Monet, Anders Zorn and Daniel Garber.
Best wishes and welcome to DPW! I’ve been on here for a couple of years and just having a revival, having been um, not very productive, for the last year - Lovely site, run by awesome people!
Best wishes
Hilda

1 Like

Faith Bonacci,

I Can’t really say that I have a particular artist that I draw inspiration from. While I enjoy looking at others art, I’m not currently as well versed with others styli as I’d like to be. While I have always had a passion for doing art work, I’ve only in the last few years come to a place in life that I’ve been able to peruse it. It has been a wonderful journey for me to finally make friends with other Artist, and learn from them.
Most of my inspiration comes from wild life. Even growing up my favorite thing to do was check out the wildlife Encyclopedia from the Library and try drawing the animal. I also have an active imagination so doing peaces with fantasy and bright colors makes jump with excitement. In part some of my fantasy is probably inspired a bit from my favorite fantasy movies; Lord of the rings, Hobbit, Dragon heart, every version of Peter Pan, Avatar, and some anime, to name a few.

1 Like