Does anybody teach oil painting workshops from home?

Hi everybody. I was wondering, does anybody teach oil painting workshops from home?
I’d be interested in learning about your experience?
What are the pros and cons of doing this?

I’d be particularly interested to know if there are any legal drawbacks to this?

I only have a small space - I could probably fit about 6 people comfortably but I could leave everything set up. I was thinking of just asking friends along to start to see if I could make this work?

Any sage advice appreciated!

2 Likes

Myself, I would do a mock class with my family. Haha. Not enough confidence to open it up to other people.

I think asking friends is a great idea to start. My daughter is in Charlotte and she has a friend who teaches art classes from her home. There is NO LACK of students in Charlotte and my niece in Raleigh does well too. They are self taught and started teaching as a way to get extra money on the side. Both quite successful, they are outgoing personalities. I imagine has a lot to do with where you are located too.

Thank you Sunny,

Would you know if your friends had to buy any special insurance to teach people in their own home?

I do occasional small group (up to 6), semiprivate, and private instruction in my home studio. I’ve not done heavy promoting of this… they tend to be through word of mouth, neighbors or friends. I’ve never considered legal ramifications. One of my favorite offerings is “parallel painting” sessions, whereby I begin by reviewing their interim work and get them started on work while in my studio. Then I do my own painting (which they can observe if they wish) and they can call on me during that time for help. During that three-hour period I will still check on their progress, regardless. I particularly like that scenario because not only am I teaching but I’m also painting! Good luck! (Your work is gorgeous, by the way!)

1 Like

Thank you Karen!