Do you find sales pin you into a certain type of art?

I have been selling my artwork since about 2003. In that time I have mostly done seascapes, but I do not consider myself a seascape painter. I do everything from the normal groups, portraits, still life, landscape, and even range into the dark and bizarre. I have won a few awards for my bizarre stuff, and quite a few for my seascapes. But anytime I talk to buyers and other artist’s, it’s all about my seascapes. Do you ever feel trapped to paint what the market wants? I mean I do enjoy painting seascapes more than other subjects, but I do want people to know that I do other things. Certainly I do not want to paint just to sell…it’s in my soul…but it sure would be nice to make more money at it.

This is a very interesting thought tl…Since January I have been painting small 6 x 6 or 5 x 7 inch land/seascapes for posting on DPW. These sizes are easier to sell and ship than my larger abstract paintings which on reflection have taken a back seat recently. I have one 24 x 24 inch stretched canvas nearly finished for an exhibition but my other new large blank canvases are sitting in a corner untouched. Has DPW membership pinned me into a trapped situation? I hope not but your question tl is a timely reminder of this. Today I shall put a large canvas on my easel and think ‘abstract’. After I have first painted a little one of course! :wink:

I paint what I like to paint on any given day. I guess I don’t have the same volume of sales to worry about it. But then again, hubby pays the bills. :wink:

1 Like

I think my ego pins me more than anything. Don’t like to fail. Easier to stick with things I already know how to paint. If I do paint something different and it turns out well, it seems to me that some time or other it will find a good home.

That’s an angle I haven’t thought of. Good point.