Celebrity photos

I see some artists using celebrity photos as a base for their art. David Bowie as example. Are there so many doing it that they are not worried about getting caught?

The way I under stand it, celebrities are public figures and as such can be photographed without their consent. That is why photographers are always around them.
The photograph they take then is copyrighted to the photographer or studio. the problem is in the reference you use to make the painting.
If you go to a rock concert and take a photo, you have the copyright to that photo and you can use it as a reference. If the person next to you takes a photo, you need their permission to use it.
Hope this is not too confusing.
I am not a legal expert so do not use my advice in any legal action.
Ken

1 Like

I’m not a legal expert either but I seems I’ve heard once that if your not mass producing images and making a ton of money from their image, your ok. I don’t think a celeb is going to hunt you down because your selling an original painting/drawing of their face.

1 Like

A long time ago, I was airbrushing t-shirts at an indoor mall and I got a lot of people asking for famous cartoon characters…especially the Tasmanian Devil. So I did a few of them sporatically but then I called Warner Bros. to see what I need to do that and the lady there told me that I need to purchase a licence and at the time it was $4,000. She said that it was mainly for people mass producing…like screen printing or something like that.

1 Like

If you do a good job it may be to buy it from you.

2 Likes

Tess,

In part it depends on how much or how little the original photo was transformed during the process of painting. If it’s sufficiently “transformative”, it’s not a problem.

Also, as Bob mentioned, competition is a factor. Is a one-off oil painting of a rock star going to hurt the market for the original photo, hampering the photographer’s opportunity to profit from it? Probably not.