How to pick a background?

Hi experts,

I am a newbie oil painter…I am wondering about what colors to use as a background …I am not sure of a rich brown/black or a lighter color as I have here. What would you do, and why?

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

I always had trouble with backgrounds because I mostly threw them away and concentrated on the subject and was never happy with it. Recently I have used my abstract background technique with the subject and i am quite pleased. Isn’t finished yet…but:

No expert here, but what you have is beautiful, lovely painting! You can do a real background or just use color. I would soften the line between your two colors you have there and leave it at hat. But I prefer abstract backgrounds. I especially like the harmony in putting the colors of the subject into the background. Yours is soft and the horse is full of darks and contrast so I think you have a winner here. :grin:

2 Likes

Thank you so much! I LOVE your work, your backgrounds are beautiful and the birdie is gorgeous!

1 Like

Thank you thank you!!

1 Like

Hi Brenda,
A possible way to approach backgrounds would be to first determine what you wanting to draw the most attention to in your painting. For instance lets assume your horses face is the “focal area”. There are a couple of different ways you could approach this.