Has my creativity died?

Hi creative people,
I have only just found this site a few weeks ago when surfing online. I have been a painter for a long time who has sold many paintings for moderate amounts since the 1980s. In all that time I have had this nagging voice telling me I am not an artist, not a real artist. My style has been described as ‘anal’; a teacher once told me to go and get drunk on wine and see if that loosens me up. It didn’t. I started seeing things double, when I tried it.

In the last year or so I decided to have a clean-up of all the oil paintings I had stored in wardrobes and elsewhere; I removed the canvases from their stretchers, smashed up the frames and put it all in the trash. I thought from now on I am going to just do watercolours. I have bought and read about ten books about watercolour painting, bought some new brushes, paint sets and good quality paper. But now I find I am stuck. I have attempted about 30, I guess, paintings, all of which I have abandoned in various stages of completion; some have been wripped up.

Of course, I am hearing the same old voices telling me that I and my paintings are worthless. I am starting to lose the energy to even get out the gear and start painting. It feels like I am getting nothing back from my efforts. It isn’t that I want to exhibit or sell. I just want to once again be able to paint for the love of it and forget about time — like I once used to.

So sorry you’re experiencing all this angst.
Some suggestions:

1. You can’t argue with your mind. It knows you, in and out. So everytime you hear that voice, just say to yourself, “That’s my Inner Critic. OK, got it.” The OK got it part is important and powerful. So don’t argue with yourself. Just notice. No judging, no arguing, no beating yourself up. Just notice and label, and OK got it. This is a mindfulness technique.