Best Affordable Paint Brushes

Does anyone know what the best affordable brand of paint brushes are for oil and acrylic? I’m having a hard time find good ones that don’t cost me an arm and leg…thanks…

Depends what you call an arm and a leg - I am an acrylic painter and my preference these days is the Windsor and Newton Professional Acrylic Colour brushes (the black and white handled ones) I get them from Dick Blick which often has really great sales! I think they would work fine for oil also, but have never tried! My criteria tends to be that I like them to be fairly stiff, but flexible,because I like to use my paints thick for impasto as well as diluted with medium. I originally chose this brand by going into an art store and ‘feeling’ the bristles of all sorts of brushes to see what felt good to me, they clean easily and hold their shape. I think us artists tend to stick with what we know, brandwise, so, good luck finding a brand that suits you, Valerie :grinning:

As silverpepperpot says, it depends on your style and how stiff you want the brush (more on that later).

For medium to soft-ish, I haven’t been able to beat Simply Simmons. They don’t fray, keeping their sharp edge throughout their life. They have cool-looking pearlized white handles. And they are really nice to work with.

Jerry’s Artarama has them both in the original (short) and long-handled types, both in regular and “extra-firm” (which isn’t all that firm), and each one regardless of size is under $4 each there.

Now, if you’re into impasto with heavy bodied paints, take advantage of my er… let’s call it “discovery” rather than “forgetfulness”… of several Simply Simmons brushes that I stashed, then forgot to clean. They were REALLY stiff.