What do you do with discouragement?

I’m relatively new to painting and just getting back to it after a hiatus of about two weeks. Before the break, I was full of enthusiasm and couldn’t wait to pick up a brush every day. Now I’m discouraged and really have to push myself. I’m dissatisfied with almost everything I do. Are you affected this way sometimes? If so, what do you do when this mood hits?

When I’m in “that” frame of mind, I still paint…sorta! I’m trying very hard to be sure I paint daily. I prepare canvases or varnish recently completed items. That can sometimes get me in the mood. I will look through reference photos to see if something grabs me; or I make a trip to one of my favorite spots and set out collecting more reference photos. Happy Painting!

2 Likes

For me, with many paintings, there is a point where the work seems hopeless but I find if I ignore my doubts and push through, it often works out in the end.

I try to remember that being a professional means working whether I feel like it or not. Then I go check my email and facebook again. :smile:

After a pause full of intense thought on my part, I asked: “But if one hasn’t always emotion. What then?”

“Do not paint,” he quickly answered. “When I came in here to work this morning I had no emotion, so I took a horseback ride. When I returned I felt like painting, and had all the emotion I wanted.”

Interview with Clara T. MacChesney (1912), in Matisse on Art (1995) edited by Jack D. Flam, p. 66

1 Like

I’ve found that my level of enthusiasm or discouragement is affected (positively and negatively) by my attitude and expectations. I just started painting again after a LONG hiatus ( 3 decades). I’m remembering how to paint and sometimes it is very frustrating.