The Featured Artist Experience

For those of you who have entered the monthly DPW contest and been a featured artist, what was the experience like? Did you feel more pressure to paint and produce more paintings in that month? Did you have more visitors to your gallery? I’m interested in hearing about some of the pros and cons of the featured artist experience.

I was a featured artist only once, but it was a great experience. I posted a painting almost everyday, I posted some new paintings, but also used the opportunity to re-post older paintings that hadn’t sold. I didn’t feel any pressure to hurry and paint, I just used the thirty days to get as much artwork up both new and older to benefit from the exposure. I sold eight paintings during that time, several older pieces and was very grateful for the opportunity. Visitors to my gallery doubled. In addition, when you enter the contest, collectors seem to visit the contest page, so I saw an increased interest in the entered painting as well. I can’t think of any cons to entering the monthly contest.

I joined DPW in March and I entered a painting in the contest this month. I can certainly see a steady number of views on the painting I entered since I uploaded my painting.