Still Life Painting - Who is your target audience?

I just started reading Maria Brophy’s book, Art, Money, Success, and first and foremost she explains that it’s important to find your target audience as opposed to just marketing to everyone.

I primarily paint still life paintings but I have very little knowledge of marketing and don’t sell much of anything, and that’s probably because I never stopped to think about who my right audience might be.

So, the question: Still life painters, who is your target audience? Who buys your paintings? Women? Men? Young? Old? How much do you know about your buyers?

My goal here is to see if there are any common denominators so that I, and anyone else who might struggle with marketing their work, can start trying to reach a more particular audience.

1 Like

I remember reading something a while back about still lives mainly being bought by women in the 30-60 age range, if that helps at all! I can tell you that almost all of the still lives I’ve sold have gone to women- the only exception I can think of is one man who bought two paintings from me last spring, he told me that he was a keen cook and enjoyed having paintings of fresh veg to inspire him. But the vast majority of my buyers (across all subjects in fact, not just still life) have been women.

I only really sell online- I haven’t had much luck with local shows yet- but from what I can tell through email conversations with buyers, most are old enough to have grown children, and often grandchildren. Younger people, here in the UK at least, are struggling to save up for homes, cars, and pay off student debts, so they’re unlikely to be buying non-essentials like art.