Shipping overseas from France

Hello everyone, I am a french painter and drafstman, just joined DPW a few days ago. Very glad to join this community. I wish to thank the members for all the valuable answers that I could find in this forum, and also the DPW team for the nice beginners guide and hard work.

I never ever sold paintings or drawings online, so it is all new for me. I am preparing my account ,gallery, and many questions arise, specially about shipping.

I have been comparing offers for shipping overseas, and I came to the same conclusions as @olga_lefort ( Posting with or without tracking ) : for a 8x8 canvas board, as long as the parcel is less than 3 cm thick, the best option from France is a registered letter using the national postal service : it is delivered against signature, and can be easily insured depending on the value. Compared with other shipping services here, it is cheap enough so it shouldn’t make potential buyers afraid ( about 10-15 $ ).

My question is about customs :

How do you french or european DWP members handle custom declaration as a sender ? For european countries, it is a breeze.
How about the rest of the world, say if I want to send to USA ? I found out that we need to prepare a document for customs, and stick it to the parcel. What do you declare the contents as ? Do you say ‘artwork’ ? "artistic painting’ ? ‘samples’ ? ‘gift’ ? Are there things that you learned and would share about this ?
More specific to France, is there any particularities regarding Maison des Artistes when you declare overseas sales ?

Thank you !! :paintbrush:

I don’t know how it works from France to the US, but I sent a painting to Canada once from the US. On the customs form I put a value of $125 and my friend ended up paying customs on it. In the past I have sent items to my family overseas from the US. If it is over a certain value the Dutch charge a customs fee.

1 Like