Reducing the drying time of Cobra WS oils

Hi all, I have been using acrylics for several years but I actually want to switch to WS oils… I have bought 2 colors of Cobra brand ( Titanium white and primary Cyan ) and I really enjoy the rendering … But my problem is that it takes very long to dry… I didn’t use water, except that my brushes were wet before begining but my skies are not dry 12 days after I painted them…
So I think I must use a drying fastener medium … It doesn’t exist in the Cobra brand. Is it better to use for example Lukas medium or alkyd medium Liquin ? what do you think ?
Thanks in advance for your help :slight_smile:

I don’t have the answer to your question but you have made me curious about this brand WS oil. I tried W&N WS oils and I did not like them so just gave up on WS. I may go back and try the Cobra, depending on the answers you get in this thread. I have heard titanium white Cobra WS does take almost as long as traditional oils to dry but are very buttery like traditional oils. Did you find the consistency nice?

I have not either the ability to compare with other brands, but yes, it’s very buttery and I enjoyed how it could cover with an intense colour … with acrylics, I often have to use several layers to get the good result I want…
And I have found that tle drying medium exists but it is out of stock on the brand website https://www.jacksonsart.com/cobra-watermixable-oil-mediums , so in the french shop too …
I was also curious to try this brand because it was used by a painter that I appreciate : Richard Robinson

1 Like

Titanium white is long to dry, regardless of type of oil paint.

The Lukas Berlin (ws) fast-dry medium is an acrylic emulsion. Mix it into WS oils and It sets in 15 minutes. It is dry the next day, but because of the rapid set, I wouldn’t recommend it for anything except underpainting or canvas toning. (And I’m a Lukas Berlin fan).