Photo Reference Sites

flickr Though sometimes I am left waiting forever and then some for a response back even though it might say:
You are free to:
Share — copy and redistribute the material in any medium or format
Adapt — remix, transform, and build upon the material
for any purpose, even commercially.
The licensor cannot revoke these freedoms as long as you follow the license terms.

I always feel the need to get permission first.

Other sites:
morguefile
wet canvas
paint my photo

and i know many more…now it’s your turn to add your favorite.

1 Like

DeviantArt, the stock photos category. I abide by the terms the individual photographer puts, and it’s been working very well for me so far.

I recently added PaintMyPhoto and Morguefile to my go-to sites. Didn’t know about flickr!

I’m new to painting and have a question about using other people’s photos. Is it okay to paint a photo that I see on pinterest?

Thanks!

I talked about this in my reply to Raphael (desoto_studio) on the thread “Do you paint from photos or screens.” In a nutshell: Most photos on Pinterest are copyrighted. If asked, sometimes photographers will allow their images to be used for painting reference. But if you use the art for profit (sale, promotion, reproduction, etc), and if a copyrighted photo can be identified as the source, it is not legal to use it as reference without permission.

The key question is: can someone looking at the art and reference side by side clearly see that any part of the art is a copy of the photo. If the answer is “yes,” and the art is used for profit, it is copyright infringement. Contrary to myth, there is no safe “percentage” that is legal to copy. Things like changing the sex of a figure, flopping the photo, etc. likewise are not sufficient change. Of course, with photos so accessible online, people do it anyway, but it isn’t legal. If you must paint from other people’s photos, you’re better off sticking to royalty-free images from the sites listed above.