How to make a still life interesting?

I can’t remember how exactly I stumbled into still life work, but I’ve been doing it for almost 2 years now and it’s not a direction I ever anticipated taking with my work. They started as studies, just something to get me used to painting with gouache, but now it’s something I put a lot of time and effort into and is something I really enjoy.

Lately I’ve really been struggling, mentally, with this, and my problem is -and I have no idea where I got this notion- that still life paintings are not “gallery art”; that they’re not “real art”; that they’re something to do while you’re waiting for your gigantic, elaborate figure paintings to dry. And it’s just not true, I know it’s not, but it doesn’t help stifle the doubt in my mind or the little voice telling me that it’s a waste of time.

So what I want to hear from you guys is:

To you, what makes a still life worth looking at? Is it subject matter? Technique? Color?

How do you pick what to put in your still life paintings?

How do you make a still life interesting and unique?

AND

What are YOUR struggles with still life painting?

This is a good set of questions and I’d also be interested in the replies, since I’ve only recently been trying out still life subjects myself.
When looking at other people’s work I often like the unusual viewpoints; a view from above, or very close-up. I have personal favourites, like jugs and anything glass; also fruit and veg. Technique doesn’t matter so much to me, I rather like some of the graphic styles as well as traditional detailed.
What to pick for painting a still life…I’m still learning that part, it can be difficult, although I sometimes feel that using fewer objects is better than lots…especially on a 6x6 board. Shadows are important, I think, if they can be made to play a role in the painting; and linking the objects together somehow, via colour, or reflections. Also, the space between objects plays a part in creating balance.