How to generate more sales

I’m new to DPW as an artist seller but not to the site, I’ve followed it for a number of years now. What I noticed as a seller is that at any given time there are approximately 2,500 auctions going per day, and only about 1% have active bidding. It seems to me that there must be something that deters more bidders. I use pinterest, fbook, blog, and word of mouth to direct people to my dpw auctions and while there are plenty of views, limited bids (now the obvious answer is perhaps the works are not good, subject matter not interesting, etc but I think given the sheer number of auctions listed and the relatively low percentage of sales through the site has me perplexed. Thoughts, explanations, ideas??

Welcome to DPW! For folks who don’t know me, I am Carol Marine’s husband and the developer and co-owner of DPW. This is a topic that Carol and I have talked about quite a lot recently.

One important thing to keep in mind is that while DPW does offer auctions, they are only offered as one way to sell work through DPW. Yes, selling through online auctions was a key part of the original “Daily Painting” approach, however they are not, in any way, suggested to be or presented as the “preferred” way to sell through DPW.

Carol and I don’t believe that there is anything fixable that is actively deterring sales through auctions in DPW. If we did, you can trust we would be working hard to identify and remove the deterrence. Instead our best thoughtful guess is it is a matter of naturally evolving preferences and expectations and that this change is not specific to DPW.