Hi/Poppyseed Oil Question/Oil of Spike Lavendar/er

Hi, my name is Rachel, I’m pretty new to art. I’m not that new in human years I suppose (47). I’m a mom and widow and have two dogs that help me keep a sense of orderliness :grinning:. I live in Sonoma, CA, USA, near Napa, where I was born. It’s a nice place to live. It’s not clear how much longer I’ll be able to stay though.

My story is sappy and interesting and I kind of feel like I should tell it to establish myself as a real human just trying to interact. I’m super-introverted so I know very, very few, if any people I can ask questions of regarding art. But have a lot of questions. And I’ve kind of dug myself into a hole here. I’ve isolated myself and find that I now want to see people’s artwork and ask them about how they did what they did.

In 2015-16 I took a drawing then an oil painting class–I had to go through disability resource dept at the school to get through them and it was one of the more rigorous things I’ve done in a long time. But I’m so glad I did. I didn’t know even how to draw more than a stick figure. And had never considered creativity of any kind for myself as a possibility. Some key things happened after my dear husband’s passing that brought me to my knees and to art.

I got brave enough to take the two classes at the local community college. I learned great stuff to get me started. I just have lots of questions that continue to come up because I’ve continued to paint and draw. What I’m painting is three different portraits of my daughter, my son, and my niece, in oil. Then I have one I just started in acrylic that I want to try and keep acrylic if I can do it–of a rose. I’m hoping to make the background abstract-ish. That’s certainly easier said than done.